+65 9795 7367(仅限 WhatsApp) angela@upchild.sg

我的客户面临的一个非常常见的障碍是他们在将孩子送去托儿所之前应该如何进行睡眠训练。

客户的这种担忧来自那些已经设法让他们的孩子进入精心计划的午睡时间表的人,以及那些刚刚开始睡眠训练之旅的人,而每个家长都担心学校的看护人或老师会不遵循相同的时间表。

对于那些还没有开始睡眠训练的父母来说,他们往往会更容易一些,我通常会建议他们尝试找到一个遵循与他们感觉相似的常规的托儿设施。

因为让我们面对现实吧,睡眠是孩子全面发展的重要因素,影响着他们生活的方方面面,而首要任务应该是找到一个符合父母午睡等观点的托儿设施。

但是很多父母没有时间货比三家。 或者,您的孩子可能已经在托儿所,但他们可能每天只允许小睡一次,或者随时让您的宝宝躺下。

因此,如果您的托儿服务提供者的做法有所不同,那么最好和最重要的做法是与您的感受和方法进行沟通。 与老师交谈,对您在白天和晚上制定孩子的睡眠程序保持透明,并要求他们尝试调整时间表,以便为您提供最好的支持。 如果他们同意,那么干得好,你就少了一件需要强调的事情!!! 许多日托中心对有一个睡得好且经常睡觉的孩子感到非常兴奋。 老实说,任何地方都欢迎优秀的睡眠者,对吧?

你也应该让你的职业知道,如果你的孩子在睡着的时候哭了一点,你就没事了。 如果您不这样做,他们最终可能会安抚您的宝宝入睡,这会挫败您迄今为止所做的所有努力。 如果真的打扰到其他宝宝,他们可以轻轻拍拍和嘘一会儿。

有一些托儿机构有关于抱起哭闹的婴儿以安抚他们的政策。 尽管这可能非常令人沮丧,但在这种情况下,任何人都无能为力,因此,请专注于您力所能及的方法,以尽量减少对睡眠训练的影响。 你需要在家里保持一致的小睡和就寝时间。

让您的托儿服务提供者知道在睡眠道具方面您更喜欢什么,以及您希望他们避免什么。 您可以带一套睡袋和一个玩具供学校使用。 始终让您的托儿服务提供者了解您正在取得的进展,例如,如果您已经让您的小孩从安抚奶嘴上断奶,请让托儿服务提供者知道他们不应该提供安抚奶嘴。 再一次,大多数托儿服务提供者通常非常愿意与父母一起工作,如果这意味着他们会有一个很好的睡眠者,并且作为重要的、快乐的父母!

一些好消息——当涉及到睡眠程序时,婴儿通常可以分辨出不同环境(例如托儿所和家中)发生的情况。 通常,他们很容易意识到这一点,尽管他们可能会被他们的照顾者安抚入睡,但这并不意味着他们需要在家里得到安抚才能入睡。 因此,为了您的理智,请清楚您在睡眠时间表方面的宽松程度,以及哪些是完全禁止的,哪些是可以改变的。 

另一个可以缓解您对睡眠训练和育儿焦虑的一点是,白天的小睡虽然很重要,但并不像您的孩子在夜间的睡眠那样“高质量”。 正是在他们晚上睡觉的时候,您的孩子才真正得到休息,而他们发育的重要部分正在发生。 因此,只要您的孩子在晚上获得健康、优质的睡眠,在这里错过午睡就不会成为令人担忧的问题。

我必须诚实; 我通常不喜欢打破规则或偏离时间表,因为我坚信例行公事是孩子生活中的重要组成部分,尤其是在睡眠方面。 但让我们面对现实吧,我们无法控制一切,有时我们不得不接受现实。 但是,通过与您的托儿服务提供者合作并向他们传达您的愿望,您将使参与其中的每个人的事情变得更加容易,并且您会知道可以满足哪些愿望。

如果您的孩子刚刚开始托儿服务,而您仍然担心它可能对您所有的辛勤工作产生影响,何不与我联系,让我们讨论如何在过渡期间支持您和您的家人。

A very common hurdle faced by my clients is what they should do on the sleep training before they send their kids off to childcare.

This concern from clients come from both those who’ve already managed to get their child on a carefully planned nap schedule as well as those only starting out on their sleep training journey, and what every parent fears is that the caregiver or teachers in schools will not follow the same schedule.

For those parents who haven’t yet started with sleep training, they tend to have it a bit easier, and I would usually suggest that they try and find a childcare facility that follows a similar routine as to what they feel comfortable with.

Because let’s face it, sleep is an important element of your child’s overall development which affects all aspects of their lives, and the number 1 priority should be to find a childcare facility that aligns with the parent’s outlook of napping etc.

But many parents don’t have the luxury of time to shop around. Or maybe your child is already attending a childcare facility, but they may only allow for one nap per day or put your baby down whenever they like to.

So, if your childcare provider is doing things a bit differently, the best and most important thing to do is to communicate with what your feelings and approach is. Chat to the teacher and be transparent about you working on your child’s sleep routines during the day and night and ask that they try and accommodate the schedule so as to best support you. If they agree, then well done, you have one less thing to stress about!!! Many daycare centers are only too thrilled to have a child who sleeps well and who sleeps often. Let’s be honest, great sleepers are welcomed anywhere, right?

You should also let your career know that you’re fine if your child cries a bit while falling asleep. If you don’t, they may end up soothing your baby to sleep which kind of defeats all the effort you’ve put in this far. If it really disturbs the other babies, they can gently pat and shush a while.

There are some childcare facilities that have policies regarding picking up a crying baby to soothe them. Although it can be super frustrating, there isn’t much anybody can do about it so in this case, rather focus on ways within your power to minimize the effects on your sleep training. You need to be consistent for naps and bedtime at home.

Let your childcare provider know what you would prefer when it comes to sleep props, as well what you would have them avoid. You can bring one set of sleep sack and a toy for school use.  Always keep your childcare provider in the loop as to the progress you’re making for example, if you’ve weaned your little one off their soother, let the childcare provider know that they should not offer one. Once again, most childcare providers are often very open to work alongside parents if it means that they’ll have a great sleeper, and as important, happy parents!

Some good news – babies can often tell the difference between what happens in different environments such as the childcare facility and at home when it comes to sleep routines. Often, they realize this easily and although they may be soothed to sleep by their carer, it does not automatically mean that they would need to be soothed to sleep in their home. So, for your sanity, be clear on how lenient you are in terms of your sleep schedule and what are complete no-goes and what could be altered. 

Another point that will calm your anxiety about sleep training and childcare is that daytime naps, although important, are not as “high-quality” as the sleep your little one has during the night. It is during their sleep at night that your child is truly resting, and the important parts of their development is taking place. So, missing out on a nap here and there should not become a cause for concern as long as your child is getting healthy, quality sleep at night.

I must be honest; I am not usually one for breaking rules or veering off a schedule because I firmly believe a routine is an important part in your child’s life especially when it comes to sleep. But let’s face it, we can’t control everything and there will be times where we just have to accept the reality of a situation. But by working with your childcare provider and communicating your wishes to them, you’ll make things much easier for everyone involved and you’ll know which of those wishes can be accommodated.

If your child has just started childcare and you’re still concerned about the effect it may have on all your hard work, why not connect with me and let’s discuss how I can support you and your family through the transition.