+65 9795 7367(仅限 WhatsApp) angela@upchild.sg

这是我看到父母面临的最棘手的睡眠训练难题之一——在他们与蹒跚学步的兄弟姐妹共用一个房间时,对最小的孩子进行睡眠训练。 通常,父母不知道如何在不影响幼儿睡眠的情况下克服这一障碍。 光是想想就很紧张。 如果以后两个人都睡不好,父母会很累的。 

让我告诉你,这种担忧是有道理的,不幸的是,在训练年幼的孩子睡眠时,没有魔法棒可以用来防止蹒跚学步的孩子醒来。 这只是您的睡眠训练之旅的这一领域的现实。

但在我继续之前,我想声明,我不会在睡眠训练时使用哭泣的方法,如果你不喜欢哭闹的婴儿,我不会要求你在他们睡着之前让他们一个人呆着。主意。 

既然我们清楚了这一点,我们也需要现实一点。 睡眠训练会在某个时候涉及哭泣,因为我们正试图让他们改变他们目前的睡眠习惯。 老实说,生孩子需要大量的哭声,这对你来说并不奇怪。 而随着宝宝的哭闹,就意味着在睡眠训练期间,大一点的孩子会因为哭声而被吵醒。

我可以想象你可能认为你应该推迟对你年幼的孩子进行睡眠训练。 但是问问你自己,你宁愿让你蹒跚学步的孩子睡几天,还是让你的家人牺牲几年来彻夜难眠?

我敢肯定,你会选择前者并牺牲你蹒跚学步的孩子几天的睡眠时间,这样每个人都可以睡个好觉。

既然您已经决定像勇士一样奋勇向前,那么让我们来看看我们可以通过哪些方法来最大程度地减少这对您蹒跚学步的孩子的睡眠造成的影响。 这里有一些很棒的提示可以帮助您度过这段时期:

在自己的房间开始睡眠训练。 首先将您的宝宝放在床边的婴儿床或摇篮中,并在可能的情况下尝试通过挂窗帘或毯子在您的房间内创建一个单独的睡眠区。 我会告诉你,它不会很美观,但是让我们面对睡眠训练一点都不时尚! 通过创建这种分离,您的宝宝将无法看到您,这是此旅程中非常重要的部分。

当你的宝宝掌握了一些技能后,把他们搬到你蹒跚学步的孩子的房间里。 一旦您观察到您的宝宝已经开始掌握一些睡眠技巧并开始独立入睡,这就是将他们搬到您的幼儿房的最佳时机。

整个过程会让你的两个孩子都产生某种抵抗,因为这是他们正常生活的一个巨大转变。 所以要准备好让你们所有人的就寝时间变得更难一些,所以尽量在一个长周末或在一周内失眠不会造成太大问题的一周内这样做。

一定要和你的孩子聊天并解释发生了什么。 提醒他们,如果他们的弟弟或妹妹真的哭着醒来,你会很快在那里处理事情。 你的孩子理解得越好,你的宝宝的睡眠对你的孩子的影响就越小。

至于小睡,如果年长者还需要小睡,我总是建议他们在单独的房间里进行。 事实是,小睡是睡眠训练计划中最难的部分,你最好保持这种方式来节省白天的眼泪,同时确保你的孩子获得茁壮成长所需的睡眠。

关于这个话题的最后一件事......我知道有些父母倾向于采取这种方法,尽管他们有额外的卧室,因为他们想为他们的姻亲或其他可能需要过夜的访客保留备用房间。

如果可以选择额外的卧室,我强烈建议您使用它。 兄弟姐妹同住一个房间时进行睡眠训练并非不可能,但它确实给这个过程增加了一层额外的难度,而且在有陪伴的情况下,你最好把一个孩子搬到另一个孩子的房间,而不是试图得到他们俩都永久睡在同一个房间里,尤其是如果年龄较大的人仍然需要父母的陪伴。 

归根结底,在房间里和蹒跚学步的孩子一起进行睡眠训练很困难,但并非不可能! 让我们面对现实吧,这总比不帮助你的孩子独立睡觉要好。 最终,短期内所有的眼泪都是值得的。

如果您正在进行睡眠训练并且比您预期的更难,让我们聊天并讨论我如何在这段旅程中为您提供支持。

Here’s one of the trickiest sleep training struggles I see parents face – sleep training their youngest child whilst they are sharing a room with their toddler sibling. And often, parents have no clue of how to navigate this hurdle without disrupting their toddler’s sleep. It is stressful just by thinking of it. If later both have trouble sleeping, it will be very exhausting for parents. 

And let me tell you, this concern is valid and unfortunately there is no magic wand that you could use to prevent your toddler from waking while sleep training your younger child. This is just the reality of this area of your sleep training journey.

But before I continue, I’d like to state that I DO NOT use the cry-it-out approach when sleep training and I will not ask you to leave a crying baby alone until they fall asleep if you’re not comfortable with the idea. 

Now that we’re clear on that, we need to be realistic as well. Sleep training is going to involve crying at some point because we are trying to let them change their current sleep habits. To be completely honest, having a baby involves a heap of crying and that should not come as a surprise to you. And with your baby crying, it will mean that during the period of sleep training, your older child will have some night’s when they are awoken because of the crying.

I can imagine you’re probably thinking you should probably hold off on sleep training your younger child. But ask yourself, would you rather have your toddler have some sleep interrupted for a few days or would you rather have your family sacrifice sleeping through the night for a few years?

I’m sure, you’ll choose the former and sacrifice a few days of your toddler’s sleep so everyone can get to sleeping well.

Now that you’ve decided to forge ahead like the warrior you are, let’s take a look at ways in which we can minimise the effect this will have on your toddler’s sleep. Here are a few amazing tips to help you through this period:

Start the sleep training in your own room. Start off by putting your baby in a crib or bassinet next to your bed and where possible, try creating a separate sleep area in your room by hanging a curtain or blanket. I’ll tell you that it won’t be very aesthetically pleasing, but let’s face sleep training is not stylish at all! By creating this separation your baby won’t be able to see you, and this is a very important part of this journey.

When your baby has acquired a few skills, move them into your toddler’s room. Once you observe that your baby has started mastering some sleep skills and has started to fall asleep independently, this is the right time to move them into your toddler room.

This whole process will have both your kids put up some sort of resistance because it is a huge shift in their normal routine. So be prepared to have bedtime get just a bit harder for all of you, so try as best to do this over a long weekend or during a week where some lost sleep won’t be that much of an issue.

Be sure to chat to your toddler and explain what is going on. Remind them that if their little brother or sister does wake up crying, you’ll be there to take care of things in a snap. The better your toddler understands, the less your baby’s sleep will affect your toddler.

And as for naps, I always recommend they be done in separate rooms if the older one still needs to take a nap. The truth is, napping is the hardest part of the sleep training program, and you’re better off just keeping it this way to save some daytime tears while ensuring your children get the sleep they need to thrive.

One last thing to add on this topic… I know some parents tend to take this approach despite having an extra bedroom because they want to hold on to the spare room for their in-laws or other visitors who might need to spend the night.

If the extra bedroom is an option, I strongly suggest you use it. Sleep training when siblings share a room isn’t impossible, but it does add an extra layer of difficulty to the process, and you’re much better off moving one child into the other’s room on those occasions when you have company than trying to get them both sleeping in the same room on a permanent basis, especially if older one still needs parent’ accompany. 

At the end of it all, sleep training with a toddler in the room is difficult, but not impossible! And let’s face it, it’s better than not helping your kids sleep independently. In the end all the tears in the short term will be worth it.

If you’re in the midst of sleep training and having a harder time than you expected, let’s chat and discuss how I can support you on this journey.